WebPagetest Forums
Render time in Chrome/Firefox - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Private Instances (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Render time in Chrome/Firefox (/showthread.php?tid=12323)



Render time in Chrome/Firefox - jklein - 06-11-2013 07:41 AM

Hi Pat,

I recently noticed that we weren't getting render time data from our Chrome and Firefox agents in our private WPT instance. I just upgraded to 2.11, and the agents should have updated themselves as well:

http://***/getTesters.php

You can see an example test result here with a 0.000s Start Render:

http://***/results.php?test=130610_EZ_6CT

Is this a known issue, or something that's easy to fix? The WPT box and the agents are all on EC2 using the AMIs that you provide. Thanks!

-Jonathan


RE: Render time in Chrome/Firefox - pmeenan - 06-12-2013 12:34 AM

Hmm, that's quite strange. Looks like the desktop is locked but that shouldn't happen on the EC2 images. The start render times are messed up because of whatever is causing the black screen shots. Did anyone RDP to the machines by any chance? If so they you need to reboot them instead of disconnecting.


RE: Render time in Chrome/Firefox - pmeenan - 06-12-2013 12:36 AM

btw, I removed the IP address and used the "publish to" to post your test to the public instance for sharing (just so you don't get people abusing your private instance in case it's not locked down): http://www.webpagetest.org/results.php?test=130611_M2_275d41692baf52f5e8212ab172d6be79


RE: Render time in Chrome/Firefox - jklein - 06-12-2013 12:53 AM

Thanks for removing the IP address - good call.

I just RDPed to the test agent and rebooted it, and it looks like things are working now! I guess someone logged in and didn't reboot afterwards. I'll add "reboot test agents" to my list of debugging steps prior to posting ;-).